Consulate General of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka, Melbourne has opened in 2013. It has Consular Jurisdiction over  Victoria, South Australia and Tasmania and it is headed by Consul General, Kapila Fonseka.

Mr. Kapila Fonseka- Consul General of Sri Lanka to Victoria, South Australia & Tasmania

Mr Kapila Fonseka

Mr Kapila Fonseka

Mr Kapila Fonseka, a Grade I officer of the Sri Lanka Foreign Service assumed duty as the third Consul General of Sri Lanka in Melbourne, Australia with jurisdiction over the States of Victoria, South Australia and Tasmania, on 13 May 2019.

Mr Fonseka had postings previously in the Sri Lanka High Commissions in New Delhi, India and London, the UK as well as the Sri Lanka Embassy in Berlin, Germany.

While serving in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Colombo, Sri Lanka, he served in the Economic Affairs, Protocol, Public Communications, South Asia and SAARC, United Nations and Consular Division.

Mr. Fonseka represented Sri Lanka at the multilateral forums including the Bay of Bengal Initiative for Multi-Sectoral Technical and Economic Cooperation (BIMSTEC), Indian Ocean Rim Association (IORA), Colombo Plan, as well as the Commonwealth.

He holds a Bachelor’s Degree in Biological Sciences from the University of Peradeniya, Sri Lanka. Mr Fonseka joined the Sri Lanka Foreign Service in year 2000.


Officers of the Consulate General: 

NAME & DESIGNATION Telephone Fax                     E-MAIL
Mr. Kapila Fonseka
Consul General
(Sri Lanka Foreign Service)
0392904202 03 98674873
Ms. Diana Perera
(Sri Lanka Foreign Service)
03 92904211 03 98674873


Contact us

Address : ( St kilda Towers) Suite 536, No 1 Queens Road,Melbourne VIC 3004. Australia
General phone : +61 3 9290 4200
Fax No: +61 3 9867 4873

Public Holidays for the Consulate General – 2019

Please note that the following Public Holidays will be observed by this Mission in the year 2019

Day and Month Holiday
01st January 2019 (Tuesday) New Year’s Day
28th January 2019 (Monday) Australia Day
04th February 2019 (Monday) National Day
11th March 2019 (Monday) Labour Day
14th April 2019 (Sunday) Sinhala Tamil New Year Day
19th April 2019 (Friday) Good Friday
22nd April 2019 (Monday) Easter Monday
25th April 2019 (Thursday) ANZAC Day
18th May 2019 (Saturday) Vesak Full Moon Poya Day
05th June 2019 (Wednesday) Id-UL-Fitr (Ramazan Festival)
10th June 2019 (Monday) Queen’s Birthday
27th September 2019 (Friday) Friday Before the AFL Grand Final
27th October 2019 (Sunday) Deepavali Festival Day
05th November 2019 (Tuesday) Melbourne Cup Day
25th December 2019 (Wednesday) Christmas Day
26th December 2019 (Thursday) Boxing Day